Long fiber peat moss

Discussion in 'General Freshwater Aquarium Keeping' started by DBlauj, Jan 24, 2013.

1. DBlauj Member

Is there any difference in long fiber sphagnum peat moss or regular sphagnum peat moss (sorry I am new to using peat moss). I am looking to lower my ph level and really can't go about an RO system so it seems this is my best bet for now. Also I know I can get sphagnum peat moss from Menards but where would I find Long fiber sphagnum peat moss? Thanks.
  2. Tjudy Executive Board

You can get the long fiber moss at Menards (or your should be able to), but if not, try a specialty nursery that sells supplies for hanging planter baskets. The long fiber moss is what is used to hold the soil in the basket.

Long fiber moss is dried plant material that has not gone through the decomposition that peat has. Technically, long fiber moss is not peat... yet. That takes a few thousand years. Long fiber moss will not acidify water as well as peat will. I use it as a substrate for egg scattering danios, barbs and tetras. I also line the inside of spawning caves with the moss for cichlids. The microhabitat in the pile of moss or in the cave will have a slightly lower pH. But the water has to be very soft for the pH to drop significantly.
  3. DBlauj Member

O.K. I guess in that case I will stick to the moss I have now it is just a little messier than I would like. I figured the long strands would be less mess.
  4. Marine590622 Executive Board

Why can't you do RO? COST?
  5. DBlauj Member