My new Angelfish aquarium

Discussion in 'Member's Blogs' started by Bill Egan, Nov 30, 2016.

1. Bill Egan

Bill Egan New Member

Well I'm 66 and just bought a 65 gallon tank. My hope is to have live plants and a few spectacular fresh water angelfish. I am a novice. The tank is set up so I'm looking for some plants and a few fish. I'm hoping for a double black, a koi angel, or any suggestions that would make for a beautiful world to gaze at. I would like to join your club, but can't figure out how to do it. Is there going to be an opportunity for me to purchase fish and plants in the near future? Thank you for any advise.
    Bill
  2. kb9skw

kb9skw Executive Board

Welcome Bill. We meet the third Saturday of most months. All of the info can be found at http://www.madisonaquatichobby.com/upcoming-events/

We don't have a December meeting rather a holiday party at a members house. Details of that should be posted to this forum very soon. Your welcome to come visit us there obviously and meet some of us.

Sadly you just missed the November presentation of hardscaping and planting. But don't fret Jen Williams will be flying in to speak to us in January about aquascaping. There will be plenty of plants to purchase then.

It would be best to just let the tank sit for a few weeks and set it's self up before adding any fish so this is actually good timing. If you have any specific plant in mind that you want to acquire go ahead and ask in the wanted section and maybe someone will have it.

Two questions are what type of lighting have you put on your new aquarium? Planted aquariums have some specific requirements you need to follow in that regard. Also what did you use for a substrate?
  3. Sean S

Sean S Executive Board