Want to team up?

Discussion in 'Member's Blogs' started by Rachel Kruse, Oct 21, 2017.

1. Rachel Kruse

Rachel Kruse New Member

i just joined/attended recently at the club. I guess it's not joining if you pay a door charge I'll look into that but either way, I'm an artist. I'm looking to create a large scale tank where I sculpt a form for a tank on a substrate that will accept plants, and someone with carpet plant knowledge could carpet the substrate. I believe this would blow the rocks off the whole aquascaping genre, to make it more artful,.. is anyone with knowledge interested? I'm thinking a praying or kneeling human figure carpeted with dwarf plants that require CO 2 and trimming...????
  2. Marine590622

Marine590622 Advisory Board Staff Member

neat idea. what medium are you thinking?
  3. Rachel Kruse

Rachel Kruse New Member

...then there's that woool that sometimes plants root into for sale???

Now that is an idea, an old dry piece of maple, cheery or hickory firewood.

Carve it. Drill tons of tiny holes in it to allow it to water log. soak it until it sinks.

make a mud out of aquascaping soil and pack that in the holes and then plant it and place it in an aquarium.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 24, 2017
  4. Marine590622

I have thought of this in the past, what about taking a low fire clay and mixing an aquasoil into it, sculpting what you want and then firing it. I am not sure this would work but would be willing to play with the idea with you.
  5. Rachel Kruse

Rachel Kruse New Member

Would the soil's composition change from high temperature or would it be used to create a texture? I'd love to try it. There's some guy that makes and fires caves for some species which are just rings of flattened clay with an opening on one side and sealed on the other. plecos? Cool idea.
  6. Marine590622